Old Computer Problem

Computer Issues? Game Issues? Hardware/Software Questions. Post them here and our resident Computer Geek will try to help you.
Post Reply
Bubbachuk-PG-
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4382
Joined: Sun May 16, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Clermont, Florida
Contact:

Old Computer Problem

Post by Bubbachuk-PG- »

Trying to connect to the internet with an old XP computer. Haven't used it in over a year but it worked fine then.
Windows Explorer will load but when I try to do updates I get the stuff below . . .

"Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage"

There's an option bar to "Diagnose Connection Problems" - I ran it.

This is what I get . . .
Windows cannot connect to the internet using HTTP, HTTPS, FTP. This is probably caused by Firewall settings on this computer.

Check the Firewall settings for HTTP port (80), HTTPS port (443), and FTP port (21)

This is all Greek to me. ;)

Any Suggestions.
Image
Image

The democracy will cease to exist when you take away from those who
are willing to work and give to those who would not.
~ Thomas Jefferson

Website: http://pgsquad.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/oliver.holmes.357

huntor
PrimeTech Administrator
PrimeTech Administrator
Posts: 1076
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 12:00 am

Re: Old Computer Problem

Post by huntor »

Well to be honest with you xp is no longer safe to use on the internet. Windows has dropped support for any updates a while ago. Any xp machine we have at work must be behind a firewall and not allowed to have access to the outside internet. ;-(
Datacenter Connection 3-22-14
Image

Bubbachuk-PG-
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4382
Joined: Sun May 16, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Clermont, Florida
Contact:

Re: Old Computer Problem

Post by Bubbachuk-PG- »

Yepper - I understand that XP is not protected any more and the risks involved with using it online. The only thing I will be using it for is map making and testing but I need to download a few things to do that.
Image
Image

The democracy will cease to exist when you take away from those who
are willing to work and give to those who would not.
~ Thomas Jefferson

Website: http://pgsquad.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/oliver.holmes.357

huntor
PrimeTech Administrator
PrimeTech Administrator
Posts: 1076
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 12:00 am

Re: Old Computer Problem

Post by huntor »

First see if your computer is even getting an ip from your router. Go to command promp (cmd)

type iconfig See if you get an ip address.

Here is a website that tells you how to do it.
https://kb.wisc.edu/helpdesk/page.php?id=4273
Datacenter Connection 3-22-14
Image

Bubbachuk-PG-
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 4382
Joined: Sun May 16, 2010 1:59 pm
Location: Clermont, Florida
Contact:

Re: Old Computer Problem

Post by Bubbachuk-PG- »

Yes, I am getting an IP Address. I am able to get on some websites, including our own. However when I try to down load something nothing happens.
IE will load and run but Mozilla Firefox doesn't load at all. I've even tried removing Firefox but nothing happens.
Image
Image

The democracy will cease to exist when you take away from those who
are willing to work and give to those who would not.
~ Thomas Jefferson

Website: http://pgsquad.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/oliver.holmes.357

huntor
PrimeTech Administrator
PrimeTech Administrator
Posts: 1076
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2010 12:00 am

Re: Old Computer Problem

Post by huntor »

There is one thing it took me forever to think about. If you go into internet options on internet explorer. Then go to connections. Toward the bottom there should be Local Area Network settings. Click on LAN settings. Make sure Automatically detect settings is checked. If that doesn't work. I will be honest I have no idea. You may want to try going to security and reset all zone to default levels, which is also in Internet Options.
Datacenter Connection 3-22-14
Image

Post Reply